DHS Ends TPS for El Salvador


Today, Secretary of Homeland Security Kirstjen M. Nielsen announced the decision to terminate the Temporary Protected Status ("TPS") designation for Salvadoran nationals. In her decision, the Secretary announced a delayed effective date of 18 months to allow for an orderly transition before the designation ends on September 9, 2019.

TPS is a program created through the Immigration Act of 1990 that provides relief to people from countries that have been deemed unsafe for various reasons, such as natural disasters and civil war. Individuals receiving TPS are not allowed to be deported, can obtain work authorization, and may receive travel authorization. In 2001, El Salvador was added to the list of countries granted TPS due to the earthquakes that devastated the country that year.

In a similar manner to the decision to end the TPS designation for Nicaragua and Haiti, the decision to end TPS for El Salvador was made after the Department of Homeland Security ("DHS") reviewed the conditions upon which El Salvador's original designation was based and whether those extraordinary conditions prevented El Salvador from adequately handling the return of their nationals. DHS determined that the conditions caused by the 2001 earthquakes no longer exist.

Previously, DHS extended TPS for South Sudan through May 2, 2019 and for Honduras through July 5, 2018, while more information is obtained and assessed.

Our office will continue to monitor developments and provide updates. If you have any questions, please contact your Goel & Anderson attorney.